• Home /
  • Blog / Brass Neck of the year award

Brass Neck of the year award


If there were an Award for Brass Neck of the Year, Cllr David Cox would be the clear winner for 2015, despite it not even being February yet!

The gist of his letter (MDA, 23rd January 2015) was that the proposed closure of the Teignmouth Minor Injuries Unit was nothing to do with the Lib Dems. ‘Nothing to do with us, Guv. It was those nasty Doctors wot did it. We wasn’t even there, Officer’. It was like reading the evidence of a cheap villain who knows he’s been caught red-handed but spouts any old nonsense that comes into his head in order to blame someone else.


Just so we’re clear, here’s three quick questions: Who was responsible for the NHS ‘reforms’ during the last four years? The Lib Dem/Tory coalition. Who has presided over cut after cut after cut, including to the NHS, since 2010? The Lib Dem/Tory coalition again, I’m afraid. And who have been the architects of the £430million hole in the NHS budget for Devon? It’s Cameron, Osbourne, Clegg and Alexander, that’s who.


It simply beggars belief therefore that Cllr Cox has the cheek to call on Teignmouth to ‘stand united in defence of our hospital services’ when it’s his party that created the CCG and left them with the job of balancing the books. And let’s be in no doubt, once the MIU goes, it’ll be death by a thousand cuts as we see Teignmouth Hospital gone if his coalition get back into office in 2015.


Oh, and by the way, Cllr Cox: it wasn’t ‘Beveridge’s NHS’. It was ‘Bevan’s NHS’. In 1948 when the NHS was created, the Liberals had precisely 12 MPs in parliament – around about the number current polls are predicting for the Lib Dems this May. It was the Labour Party’s 393 MPs that created the NHS and it’s only the Labour Party that can save it.




Roy Freer,

Labour Party Prospective Parliamentary Candidate for Newton Abbot.


Do you like this post?


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Newton Abbot Labour Party posted about Brass Neck of the year award on Newton Abbot Labour Party's Facebook page 2015-01-31 14:30:04 +0000
Brass Neck of the year award
@NewtonAbbotCLP tweeted this page. 2015-01-31 10:04:21 +0000
Newton Abbot Labour Party posted about Brass Neck of the year award on Newton Abbot Labour Party's Facebook page 2015-01-31 10:04:20 +0000
Brass Neck of the year award

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.